These collections by Morgan Powell were digitized, assembled, and compressed by John Tubbs.

Chamber Music

Chamber Music Collection Tracks
  1. Brass Quintet Two – Louisville Brass Quintet
  2. Darkness! I – Contemporary Chamber ensemble, Bill Brooks conductor
  3. The Young Old Faces – Zae Munn, cello and voice
  4. Adagio for Winds and Percussion – NTSU Wind Ensemble, Samuel Adler conductor
  5. Darkness II for Brass Quintet – Sal Martirano, conductor
  6. Midnight Realities – Dan Perantoni
  7. Five Movements for String Quartet – Walden String Quartet
  8. Three Movements for Piano – Dennis Kam
  9. Music for Brass and Percussion – The Big Ass Brass Ensemble of UIUC, Thomas Wirtel conductor

You can play and download the Chamber Music collection at the following links:

Chamber Music Collection – Compressed (MP3 files)
Chamber Music Collection – Uncompressed (WAV files)


Jazz Collection Tracks
  1. Volume XII
  2. Steppin’ on the Gas – Tone Road Ramblers
  3. Music for Jazz Ensemble – UIUC Jazz Band
  4. My Child for Jazz Octet – NTSU Jazz Octet
  5. The Happy Way for Jazz Band – NTSU Lab Jazz Band
  6. Structure for Improvisation for Jazz Octet – NTSU Jazz Octet
  7. Greeting Dawn for Jazz Band – NTSU Lab Jazz Band, Dr. Gene Hall director
  8. Higgins for Jazz Band – University of Indiana, Thomas Wirtel director
  9. Moonbag for Jazz Band – NTSU Lab Jazz Band, Leon Breeden conductor
  10. Perspectives for Jazz Octet – NTSU Jazz Octet
  11. Bird Merchant for Jazz Band – UIUC Jazz Band, UIUC Jazz Band ,John Garvey conductor
  12. Jazz Church Service 4 Excepts – jazz sextet

You can play and download the Jazz collection at the following links:

Jazz Collection – Compressed (MP3 files)
Jazz Collection – Uncompressed (WAV files)

Tone Road Ramblers

Tone Road Ramblers Tracks
  1. East River Roulette Improvisation – Tone Road Ramblers
  2. Duet V – Tone Road Ramblers
  3. Fine Tuning – Tone Road Ramblers – Ray and Dave Sasaki
  4. Dafunkamonkus – Tone Road Ramblers
  5. Laugh in Improvisation – Tone Road Ramblers

You can play and download the Tone Road Ramblers collection at the following links:

Tone Road Ramblers Collection – Compressed (MP3 files)
Tone Road Ramblers Collection – Uncompressed (WAV files)

Music for Choreography

Music for Choreography Collection Tracks
  1. Warmup
  2. Dreams for mixed sextet
  3. Alone for Ray Sasaki – Ray Sasaki
  4. Ray’s in the Window: Gaman – Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Edwin London conductor, Ray Sasaki and Howie Smith, soloist
  5. After the Dance – Morgan Powell Quartet
  6. Myth for Dance – Morgan Powell Quintet

You can play and download the Music for Choreography collection at the following links:

Music for Choreography Collection – Compressed (MP3 files)
Music for Choreography Collection – Uncompressed (WAV files)

1962 Improvisations

1962 Improvisations Collection Tracks
  1. Improvisation 1 – NTSU Improv Quartet, Thomas Wirtel, Morgan Powell, Lanny Steele, Toby Guynn
  2. Improvisation 2 – NTSU Improv Quartet
  3. Improvisation 3 – NTSU Improv Quartet
  4. Improvisation 4 – NTSU Improv Quartet
  5. Improvisation 5 – NTSU Improv Quartet
  6. Improvisation 6 – NTSU Imrov Quartet
  7. Improvisation 7, The Adler Connection – NTSU Improv Quartet with Sam Adler, piano

You can play and download the 1962 Improvisations collection at the following links:

1962 Improvisations – Compressed (MP3 files)
1962 Improvisations – Uncompressed (WAV files)

There is a new (2017) set of recorded music compositions and improvisation from 1957 through 2014 by Morgan online titled Organic Roots. Music on these 5 CDs cannot be purchased as disks but can be heard at various online music sources (iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Pandora, etc.).


Check out Morgan Powell's On and Off the Score on Facebook.

“…Through the processes of composing, performing, and hearing this music the bar is raised to a new level of what constitutes ‘creative’ music.”

— Jim McNeely, jazz pianist/composer

“…Powell’s music sits at the intersection of the experimental jazz tradition and the classical avant-garde…”

— Mark Stryker, music critic, Detroit Free Press


There is an element in Powell’s music, maybe it’s the jazz esthetic, that infuses a graceful linear clarity. As each piece is experienced, it seems to curve more often than it corners. The end result for this listener is that I sense the design and logic in each piece, but also the organic, the warmth and beauty of the human heart of the composer.

Part of the success of this collection is due to the chemistry between Powell and the musical coterie on each track. So intimate is the relationship that the performers sound like different incarnations of Powell himself. As such, the listener will not hear many seams between what is prescribed and what is improvised in this collection. When those seams are evident (as on TRR Improv, 2014), the music does not surrender to the mayhem and massiveness that can often occur in group improvisation settings. Instead, the performers contribute collegially and embrace with a like-minded purpose.

There are a great variety of listening experiences in this collection as the instrumentation shifts with each track. Throughout runs the common thread of Powell’s intended message, the delivery of which is patient, well-timed, and as generous to the ears and heart as it is to the intellect.

– Jay Miglia, jazz musician

Miscreant Angels is a truly “fantastic” work for solo piano in that it resembles a “Fantasie” in its exceptional variety of moods, texture and character. It presents a technical challenge on a par with that of the Liszt etudes, the sensitivity of a chopin nocturne and the clarity of the classical composers and yet it is entirely unique in style. It is both powerful and intimate, virtuosic and poignant.

Waterclown is a masterpiece! It is a perfect interweaving of ensemble, solo and improvisational elements that transports the listener into another time, into another world.

Sonny’s Songs
Martirano’s performance is masterful and inspired! A significant work for the solo violinist who can integrate jazz elements, improvisation and the virtuosity of the Esaye solo sonatas.

FP Improv: Hilariously Brilliant!

– Dr. Ariane Alexander, pianist

More reviews of ON AND OFF THE SCORE

Sounding Our Depths: The Music of Morgan Powell – by Ann Starr.
Available for purchase on eBay or contact Morgan Powell.

Morgan Powell Music Manuscripts, 1958-2014 | The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music

Morgan Powell on the Creative Process: The Reality of Maborosi, Ann Starr, NewMusicBox, The Web Magazine from the American Music Center

Moving Away from the Center of Jazz: Thomas Wirtel, a.k.a. Thomas Shabda NoorAnn Starr, NewMusicBox, The Web Magazine from the American Music Center

Interview with Morgan Powell – Snake Babies: A Conversation, by Ann Starr, Perfect Sound Forever online music magazine

Malcare WordPress Security